New League Executive Committee and Officers

New members of the League Executive Committee and officers were selected by members at the annual conference last week in Scottsdale.

Outgoing League President and Tempe Mayor Mark Mitchell was recognized for his service at the League's Annual Business Meeting during the Annual Conference.

Chandler Mayor Jay Tibshraeny was elected to serve as the next League President.

Lake Havasu City Mayor Mark Nexsen will serve as vice president and Maricopa Mayor Christian Price will serve as treasurer.

The League is governed by a 25-member Executive Committee made up of mayors and councilmembers from incorporated cities and towns across the state. Officers and members of the Executive Committee are elected for two-year overlapping terms.

The following officials were elected to two-year terms on the Executive Committee:

Doug Von Gausig, Mayor, Clarkdale
Gerald Nabours, Mayor, Flagstaff
Linda Kavanagh, Mayor, Fountain Hills
Jenn Daniels, Mayor, Gilbert
Jerry Weiers, Mayor, Glendale
W.J. "Jim" Lane, Mayor, Scottsdale
Daryl Seymore, Mayor, Show Low
Sharon Wolcott, Mayor, Surprise
Mark Mitchell, Mayor, Tempe
Jonathan Rothschild, Mayor, Tucson
Doug Nicholls, Mayor, Yuma

The following officials are currently serving terms on the Executive Committee which expire in August 2017:

Gilbert Lopez, Councilmember, Coolidge
Lana Mook, Mayor, El Mirage
Thomas L. Schoaf, Mayor, Litchfield Park
Ed Honea, Mayor, Marana
John Giles, Mayor, Mesa
Kenny Evans, Mayor, Payson
Cathy Carlat, Mayor, Peoria
Daniel Valenzuela, Councilmember, Phoenix
Harvey Skoog, Mayor, Prescott Valley
Rick Mueller, Mayor, Sierra Vista
Bob Rivera, Mayor, Thatcher

League of Arizona Cities and Towns
1820 W. Washington St.
Phoenix, AZ  85007
Phone: 602-258-5786
Fax: 602-253-3874

If you have ideas for this newsletter or encounter difficulty reading this email,
please contact Samantha Womer at with your concerns.