Local Government Directory

 

TEMPE, City of
P.O. Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
Phone:
(480) 350-4311
Fax:
(480) 350-8996
City Hall Hours:
Monday thru Friday: 8:00-5:00
Council Meets:
At least one Thursday a month
Incorporation Date:
1894
Charter City:
Yes, adopted 1964
Population:
161,719 (2010 Census)
Area Within Limits:
39.8 sq. mi.
Elevation:
1,159 ft.
County:
Maricopa
Municipal Utilities:
Water, Sewer, Irrigation, Trash, Garbage, Cemetery
General Election:
May
Sales Tax:
1.8%/$142,994,613
Bed Tax:
Sales tax + 5%/$9,369,435
Use Tax:
1.8%/2,779,255
Property Tax:
Primary & Secondary
Council/Manager Form of Government:
Yes
Directly Elected Mayor:
Yes
Municipal Property Corporation:
Yes
Alternative Expenditure Limit:
Yes
OFFICIALS
MAYOR & COUNCIL OFFICE
Mayor
Mark Mitchell, Mayor of Tempe
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8793
mark_mitchell@tempe.gov
Term expires: 2020
Vice Mayor
Robin Arredondo-Savage, Vice Mayor of Tempe
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8792
robin_arredondo-savage@tempe.gov
Term expires: 2018
Councilmember
Kolby Granville, Councilmember of Tempe
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8796
kolby_granville@tempe.gov
Term expires: 2020
Councilmember
Randy Keating, Councilmember of Tempe
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8798
randy_keating@tempe.gov
Term expires: 2020
Councilmember
Lauren Kuby, Councilmember of Tempe
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8507
lauren_kuby@tempe.gov
Term expires: 2018
Councilmember
Joel Navarro, Councilmember of Tempe
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8795
joel_navarro@tempe.gov
Term expires: 2020
Councilmember
David Schapira, Councilmember of Tempe
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8510
david_schapira@tempe.gov
Term expires: 2018
Kristin Gwinn, Council Aide
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8916
kristin_gwinn@tempe.gov
Elizabeth Higgins, Chief of Staff to the Mayor and Council
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8965
elizabeth_higgins@tempe.gov
Parrish Spisz, Council Aide
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85281
(480) 350-8816
parrish_spisz@tempe.gov
Alec Thomson, Assistant to the Mayor
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85281
(480) 350-8959
alec_thomson@tempe.gov
CITY MANAGER'S OFFICE
Manager
Andrew Ching, City Manager
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8575
andrew_ching@tempe.gov
Ken Jones, Deputy City Manager
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8504
kenneth_jones@tempe.gov
Steven Methvin, Deputy City Manager/Chief Operating Officer
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8811
steven_methvin@tempe.gov
CITY CLERK'S OFFICE
Clerk
Brigitta M Kuiper, City Clerk
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8007
brigitta_kuiper@tempe.gov
LEGAL DEPARTMENT
Attorney
Judi Baumann, City Attorney
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8227
judi_baumann@tempe.gov
Magistrate
Kevin Kane, City Magistrate
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8328
kevin_kane@tempe.gov
MANAGEMENT SERVICES DEPT
Finance Director
Ken Jones, Chief Financial Officer
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8504
kenneth_jones@tempe.gov
Barbara Blue, City Auditor
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8982
barbara_blue@tempe.gov
HUMAN RESOURCES DEPT
Human Resources Director
Renie Broderick, Internal Services Director
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8407
renie_broderick@tempe.gov
EMERGENCY SERVICES DEPT
Police Chief
Sylvia Moir, Police Chief
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8311
sylvia_moir@tempe.gov
Fire Chief
Greg Ruiz, Fire Medical Rescue Chief
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 858-7212
greg_ruiz@tempe.gov
COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DEPT
Planning/Community Development Director
Chad Weaver, Community Development Director
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8023
chad_weaver@tempe.gov
COMMUNITY SERVICES DEPARTMENT
Naomi Farrell, Human Services Director
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-5428
naomi_farrell@tempe.gov
Shelley Hearn, Community Services Director
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8906
shelley_hearn@tempe.gov
Rosa Inchausti, Strategic Management/Diversity Director
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8999
rosa_inchausti@tempe.gov
PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT
Public Works Director
Don Bessler, Public Works Director
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8205
don_bessler@tempe.gov
GOVERNMENT RELATIONS DEPARTMENT
Government Relations Director
Marge Zylla, Government Relations Officer
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8922
marge_zylla@tempe.gov
PUBLIC INFORMATION DEPARTMENT
Communication/Public Affairs Director
Nikki Ripley, Communications & Media Relations Director
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 350-8846
nikki_ripley@tempe.gov
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT/TOURISM
Economic Development Director
Donna Kennedy, Economic Development Director
PO Box 5002
Tempe, AZ 85280
(480) 858-2395
donna_kennedy@tempe.gov
LEGISLATORS
US SENATORS
Senator:
Jeff Flake
Senator:
John McCain
US REPRESENTATIVES
Congressional District:
9
Congresswoman:
Kyrsten Sinema
STATE REPRESENTATIVES