Local Government Directory

 

SURPRISE, City of
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
Phone:
(623) 222-1000
Fax:
(623) 222-1021
City Hall Hours:
Monday thru Friday: 8:00-5:00
Council Meets:
1st & 3rd Tuesdays of each month
Incorporation Date:
1960
Charter City:
No
Population:
117,517 (2010 Census)
Area Within Limits:
76 sq. mi.
Elevation:
1,130 ft.
County:
Maricopa
Municipal Utilities:
Water, Garbage, Trash, Sewer
General Election:
November
Sales Tax:
2.2%/$42,224,322
Bed Tax:
Sales tax + 4.52%/(included in sales tax)
Use Tax:
None
Property Tax:
Primary & Secondary
Council/Manager Form of Government:
Yes
Directly Elected Mayor:
Yes
Municipal Property Corporation:
Yes
Alternative Expenditure Limit:
Yes
OFFICIALS
MAYOR & COUNCIL OFFICE
Mayor
Sharon Wolcott, Mayor of Surprise
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1300
mayor@surpriseaz.gov
Term expires: 2020
Vice Mayor
John Williams, Vice Mayor of Surprise
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1300
john.williams@surpriseaz.gov
Term expires: 2020
Councilmember
Skip Hall, Councilmember of Surprise
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1300
skip.hall@surpriseaz.gov
Term expires: 2018
Councilmember
Jim Hayden, Councilmember of Surprise
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1300
jim.hayden@surpriseaz.gov
Term expires: 2020
Councilmember
Ken Remley, Councilmember of Surprise
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1300
rachel.villanueva@surpriseaz.gov
Term expires: 2020
Councilmember
Todd Tande, Councilmember of Surprise
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1300
todd.tande@surpriseaz.gov
Term expires: 2020
Councilmember
Roland Winters, Jr, Councilmember of Surprise
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1300
roland.winters@surpriseaz.gov
Term expires: 2018
Jodi Tas, Assistant to the Council II
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1300
jodi.taz@surpriseaz.gov
CITY MANAGER'S OFFICE
Manager
Bob Wingenroth, City Manager
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1100
bob.wingenroth@surpriseaz.gov
Paul Bernardo, Government & Community Partnerships Manager
16008 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1029
paul.bernardo@surpriseaz.gov
Rick Buss, Assistant City Manager
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1026
rick.buss@surpriseaz.gov
Mike Frazier, Assistant City Manager
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1022
mike.frazier@surpriseaz.gov
Nicole Lance, Deputy City Manager
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1030
nicole.lance@surpriseaz.gov
CITY CLERK'S OFFICE
Clerk
Sherry Aguilar, City Clerk
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1820
clerk@surpriseaz.gov
Linda Stevens, Deputy Clerk-Admin
16008 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1222
linda.stevens@surpriseaz.gov
LEGAL DEPARTMENT
Attorney
Robert Wingo, City Attorney
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1124
robert.wingo@surpriseaz.gov
Magistrate
Louis Frank Dominguez, Presiding Judge
12604 W Statler Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-4821
louis.frank.dominguez@surpriseaz.gov
MANAGEMENT SERVICES DEPT
Finance Director
Lindsey Duncan, Finance Director
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-3645
lindsey.duncan@surpriseaz.gov
Kevin Custer, Procurement Manager
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1857
kevin.custer@surpiseaz.gov
HUMAN RESOURCES DEPT
Human Resources Director
Mark Schott, Human Resource Director
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-3500
mark.schott@surpriseaz.gov
EMERGENCY SERVICES DEPT
Police Chief
Terry Young, Police Chief
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-4020
terry.young@surpriseaz.gov
Fire Chief
Tom Abbott, Fire Chief
14250 W Statler Plaza Ste 101
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-5020
tom.abbott@surpriseaz.gov
COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DEPT
Planning/Community Development Director
Eric Fitzer, Community Development Director
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-3000
eric.fitzer@surpriseaz.gov
Building Official
Chris Boyd, Assistant Director, Building Safety, Development & Code Enforcement
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-3000
chris.boyd@surpriseaz.gov
Lloyd Abrams, Assistant Director, Planning, Transportation & Real Estate
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-3021
lloyd.abrams@surpriseaz.gov
COMMUNITY SERVICES DEPARTMENT
Parks & Recreation Director
Mark Coronado, Parks, Rec & Library Director
15930 N Bullard Ave
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1100
mark.coronado@surpriseaz.gov
Parks & Recreation Director
Seth Dyson, Human Service & Community Vitality Director
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1620
seth.dyson@surpriseaz.gov
Government Relations Director
Nicole Lance, Deputy City Manager/Intergov
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1030
nicole.lance@surpriseaz.gov
PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT
Public Works Director
Mike Gent, Public Works Director
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-6020
mike.gent@surpriseaz.gov
Terry Lowe, Water Services Director
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-6022
terry.lowe@surpriseaz.gov
Martin Lucero, Transportation Planning Manager
16004 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-3142
martin.lucero@surpiseaz.gov
PUBLIC INFORMATION DEPARTMENT
Communication/Public Affairs Director
Diane Arthur, Acting Communication/Public Affairs Director
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1420
diane.arthur@surpriseaz.gov
Information Technology Director
Tammie Hollowell, Information Technology Director
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-7524
tammie.hollowell@surpriseaz.gov
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT/TOURISM
Economic Development Director
Jeanine Jerkovic, Economic Development Director
16000 N Civic Center Plaza
Surprise, AZ 85374
(623) 222-1100
jeanine.jerkovic@surpriseaz.gov
LEGISLATORS
US SENATORS
Senator:
Jeff Flake
Senator:
John McCain
US REPRESENTATIVES
Congressional District:
8
Congressman:
Trent Franks
STATE REPRESENTATIVES