Local Government Directory

 

SAFFORD, City of
P.O. Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
Phone:
(928) 432-4000
Fax:
(928) 348-3111
City Hall Hours:
Monday thru Thursday: 7:00-6:00
Council Meets:
2nd & 4th Mondays, 6:00 p.m.
Incorporation Date:
1901
Charter City:
No
Population:
9,566 (2010 Census)
Area Within Limits:
6.2 sq. mi.
Elevation:
2,900 ft.
County:
Graham
Municipal Utilities:
Airport, Cemetery, Electricity, Gas, Golf Course, Landfill, Trash, Water, Sewer
General Election:
November
Sales Tax:
2.5%/$4,246,800
Bed Tax:
Sales tax + 5%/(included in sales tax)
Use Tax:
2.5%/(included in sales tax)
Property Tax:
Primary
Council/Manager Form of Government:
Yes
Directly Elected Mayor:
Yes
Municipal Property Corporation:
No
Alternative Expenditure Limit:
Yes
OFFICIALS
MAYOR & COUNCIL OFFICE
Mayor
Jason Kouts, Mayor of Safford
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85546
(928) 651-5889
jkouts@saffordaz.gov
Term expires: 2018
Vice Mayor
Richard Ortega, Vice Mayor of Safford
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 651-6803
rortega@saffordaz.gov
Term expires: 2020
Councilmember
Mike Andazola, Councilmember of Safford
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 428-8065
mandazola@saffordaz.gov
Term expires: 2020
Councilmember
Arnold A Lopez, Councilmember of Safford
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4000
alopez@saffordaz.gov
Term expires: 2018
Councilmember
Steve McGaughey, Councilmember of Safford
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85546
(928) 965-1397
smcgaughey@saffordaz.gov
Term expires: 2020
Councilmember
Gene Seale, Councilmember of Safford
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85546
(928) 432-9062
gseale@saffordaz.gov
Term expires: 2018
Councilmember
Chris Taylor, Councilmember of Safford
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 322-9787
ctaylor@saffordaz.gov
Term expires: 2020
CITY MANAGER'S OFFICE
Manager
Horatio Skeete, City Manager
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4011
hskeete@saffordaz.gov
Leslie Norton, Executive Secretary
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4012
lnorton@saffordaz.gov
CITY CLERK'S OFFICE
Clerk
Georgia Luster, City Clerk
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4001
glluster@saffordaz.gov
LEGAL DEPARTMENT
Attorney
William J Sims, Attorney for Safford
2020 N Central Ave Ste 670
Phoenix, AZ 85004
(602) 772-5500
wjsims@simsmurray.com
Magistrate
D Corey Sanders, City Magistrate
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4090
MANAGEMENT SERVICES DEPT
Finance Director
Alma Flores, Finance Officer
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4031
aflores@saffordaz.gov
HUMAN RESOURCES DEPT
Human Resources Director
Clifford Davis, Human Resource Director
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4021
cdavis@saffordaz.gov
EMERGENCY SERVICES DEPT
Police Chief
Joe Brugman, Police Chief
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4101
jbrugman@saffordaz.gov
Fire Chief
Clark Bingham, Fire Chief
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4281
cbingham@saffordaz.gov
COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DEPT
Planning/Community Development Director
Dustin Welker, Planning & Community Development Director
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85546
(928) 432-4299
dwelker@saffordaz.gov
Building Official
James Ruiz, Building Inspector
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4144
jruiz@saffordaz.gov
Gene Fowler, Planning & Zoning Commission Vice Chairman
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4140
COMMUNITY SERVICES DEPARTMENT
Library Director
LeAnne McElroy, Library Director
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85546
(928) 432-4151
lmcelroy@saffordaz.gov
PUBLIC WORKS DEPARTMENT
Engineer
Lance Henrie, Assistant Public Works Director/City Engineer
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4190
lhenrie@saffordaz.gov
Engineer
Randy Petty, City Engineer
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4261
nrpetty@saffordaz.gov
Public Works Director
Jenny Howard, Utilities Director
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4190
jhoward@saffordaz.gov
Public Works Director
Randy Petty, Public Works Director
PO Box 272
Safford, AZ 85548
(928) 432-4261
nrpetty@saffordaz.gov
LEGISLATORS
US SENATORS
Senator:
Jeff Flake
Senator:
John McCain
US REPRESENTATIVES
Congressional District:
1
Congressman:
Tom O'Halleran
STATE REPRESENTATIVES