



Media Contact: Ken Strobeck, Executive Director League of Arizona Cities and Towns Cell: 602-501-4989 <u>kstrobeck@azleague.org</u>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

LOCAL OFFICIALS SELECTED TO LEAD LEAGUE OF ARIZONA CITIES AND TOWNS

PHOENIX (Sept. 5, 2012) - Members of the League of Arizona Cities and Towns selected two new members for its policy-making Executive Committee at the organization's annual conference last week in Scottsdale, Arizona.

New members elected to the Executive Committee:

John Lewis, Mayor, Gilbert Ed Honea, Mayor, Marana

Members elected to serve for two year terms as officers on the Executive Committee:

President:	Doug Von Gausig, Mayor, Clarkdale
Vice President:	Mark Mitchell, Mayor, Tempe
Treasurer:	Jay Tibshraeny, Mayor, Chandler

Others re-elected to two-year terms on the Executive Committee:

Marie Lopez Rogers, Mayor, Avondale Elaine M. Scruggs, Mayor, Glendale Mark Nexsen, Mayor, Lake Havasu City Scott Smith, Mayor, Mesa Lynn Skelton, Vice Mayor, Sahuarita W. J. "Jim" Lane, Mayor, Scottsdale Rob Adams, Mayor, Sedona

-more-

2-2-2/League Selects New Executive Committee Members

Gerry Whipple, Councilmember, Show Low Jonathan Rothschild, Mayor, Tucson Alan Krieger, Mayor, Yuma

Those with one year remaining on their Executive Committee term:

Gilbert Lopez, Vice Mayor, Coolidge Lana Mook, Mayor, El Mirage John Salem, Mayor, Kingman Thomas L. Schoaf, Mayor, Litchfield Park Kenny Evans, Mayor, Payson Bob Barrett, Mayor, Payson Bob Barrett, Mayor, Peoria Greg Stanton, Mayor, Phoenix Harvey Skoog, Mayor, Prescott Valley Rick Mueller, Mayor, Sierra Vista Bob Rivera, Mayor, Thatcher

The 25-member Executive Committee is the governing body of the League of Arizona Cities and Towns and sets policy relating to legislative and organizational matters.

About the League:

The League of Arizona Cities and Towns is a voluntary association of all the 91 incorporated cities and towns in the State of Arizona. It provides policy and legislative advocacy, information and inquiry services, along with publications and educational programs to strengthen the quality and efficiency of municipal government. It was founded in 1937 to serve the interests of cities and towns and to preserve the principles of home rule and local determination. The conference is the League's largest annual event, attracting more than 900 elected officials and staff from cities and towns throughout the state to attend educational sessions, participate in panel discussions, and share best practices.