

2012 MUNICIPAL POLICY STATEMENT

CORE PRINCIPLES

 PROTECTION OF SHARED REVENUES. Arizona's municipalities rely on the existing state-collected shared revenue system to provide quality services to their residents. The League will resist any attacks on this critical source of funding for localities, which are responsibly managing lean budgets during difficult economic times.

The League opposes unfunded legislative mandates, as well as the imposition of fees and assessments on municipalities as a means of shifting the costs of State operations onto cities and towns.

In particular, the League opposes any further diversions of Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF) monies away from municipalities and calls upon the Legislature to restore diverted HURF funding to critical road and street projects.

• PRESERVATION OF LOCAL CONTROL. The League calls upon the Arizona Legislature to respect the authority of cities and towns to govern their communities free from legislative interference and the imposition of regulatory burdens. The League shares the sentiments of Governor Brewer, who, in vetoing anti-city legislation last session, wrote: "I am becoming increasingly concerned that many bills introduced this session micromanage decisions best made at the local level. What happened to the conservative belief that the most effective, responsible and responsive government is government closest to the people?"

FISCAL STEWARDSHIP

The League is prepared to support reasonable reforms to the state revenue system that adhere to the principles of simplicity, fairness and balance and that do not infringe upon the ability of cities and towns to implement tax systems that reflect local priorities and economies.

• The League proposes to work with the Legislature to ensure that both the State and municipalities are equipped with the economic development tools they need to help them remain competitive nationally and internationally.

QUALITY COMMUNITIES

As the level of government closest to the people, cities and towns have a responsibility to assure the best possible quality of life of their residents. To achieve this end, the League supports:

- · Legislation to provide for full restitution for criminal damage caused by graffiti;
- Efforts to enact statewide licensing requirements for tattoo parlors;
- · Legislative efforts to reduce the shortage of physicians in Arizona; and
- Expansion of the opportunities for municipalities to provide emergency response services within their jurisdictions.

ENERGY, ENVIRONMENT AND LAND USE

As responsible managers of energy, land and environmental resources, Arizona's cities and towns seek to strengthen their partnership with the State with respect to critical land use and resource issues. Accordingly, the League urges the Legislature and other state entities to:

- Restore the Arizona State Park Heritage Fund and ensure that fees generated at Arizona state parks are dedicated to state park purposes;
- Support and enact legislation to add greater flexibility to the process for annexation of county islands; and
- Promote policies that encourage more solar energy generation and the establishment of solar gardens throughout Arizona.

FEDERAL RESPONSIBILITY

The League petitions the federal government to respect municipal authority and specifically calls upon Congress to:

- Oppose federal preemption of state and local taxing authority over online travel companies;
- Repeal Section 511 of the Tax Increase Prevention and Reconciliation Act of 2005, which requires local governments to withhold and remit to the Internal Revenue Service 3% of nearly all contract payments, effective January 1, 2013; and
- Support large-scale forest restoration for Arizona and other western states to improve forest health and reduce the risks of catastrophic wildfires.



OUESTIONS? CALL 602-258-5786

2012 LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS



- S Steve Pierce
- R Karen Fann, Andy Tobin
- M Camp Verde, Chino Valley, Clarkdale, Cottonwood, Jerome, Prescott, Prescott Valley, Sedona, Tusayan, Williams



- S Jack Jackson Jr.
- R Tom Chabin, Albert Hale
- M Flagstaff



- S Ron Gould
- R Doris Goodale, Nancy McLain
- M Bullhead City, Colorado City, Fredonia, Kingman, Lake Havasu City, Page, Parker, Quartzsite



- S Scott Bundgaard
- R Jack Harper, Judy Burges
- M Buckeye, Dewey-Humboldt, Glendale, Peoria, Phoenix, Surprise, Wickenburg



- S Sylvia Allen
- R Brenda Barton, Chester Crandell
- Clifton, Duncan, Eagar, Globe, Holbrook, Miami, Payson, Pima, Pinetop-Lakeside, Safford, St. Johns, Show Low, Snowflake, Springerville, Star Valley, Taylor, Thatcher, Winslow



- S Lori Klein
- R Amanda Reeve, Carl Seel
- M Phoenix



- S Nancy Barto
- R Heather Carter, David Burnell Smith
- M Carefree, Cave Creek, Phoenix, Scottsdale



- S Michele Reagan
- R John Kavanagh, Michelle Ugenti
- M Fountain Hills, Scottsdale



- S Rick Murphy
- R Rick Gray, Debbie Lesko
- M Glendale, Peoria, Surprise, Youngtown



- S Linda Gray
- R Jim Weiers, Kimberly Yee
- M Glendale, Phoenix



- S Adam Driggs
- R Kate Brophy McGee, Eric Meyer
- M Paradise Valley, Phoenix



- S John Nelson
- R Steve Montenegro, Jerry Weiers
- M Avondale, Buckeye, El Mirage, Glendale, Goodyear, Litchfield Park, Phoenix, Surprise



- S Steve Gallardo
- R Richard Miranda, Anna Tovar
- M Avondale, Glendale, Phoenix, Tolleson



- S Robert Meza
- R Chad Campbell, Debbie McCune Davis
- M Glendale, Phoenix



- S Kyrsten Sinema
- R Lela Alston, Katie Hobbs
- M Phoenix



- S Leah Landrum Taylor
- R Ruben Gallego, Catherine Miranda
- M Guadalupe, Phoenix



- S David Schapira
- R Edward Ableser, Ben Arredondo
- M Scottsdale, Tempe



- S Russell Pearce
- R Cecil Ash, Steve Court
- M Mesa



- S Rich Crandall
- R Justin Olson, Justin Pierce
- M Apache Junction, Mesa



- S John McComish
- R Jeff Dial, Bob Robson
- M Chandler, Phoenix, Tempe



- S Steve Yarbrough
- R Tom Forese, J.D. Mesnard
- M Chandler, Gilbert, Mesa, Queen Creek



- S Andy Biggs
- R Eddie Farnsworth, Steve Urie
- M Apache Junction, Gilbert, Mesa



- S Steve Smith
- 🕟 🕟 John Fillmore, Frank Pratt
- M Apache Junction, Avondale, Casa Grande, Coolidge, Eloy, Florence, Hayden, Kearny, Mammoth, Maricopa, Phoenix, Queen Creek, Superior, Winkelman



- S Don Shooter
- R Russ Jones, Lynne Pancrazi
- M Parker, San Luis, Somerton, Wellton, Yuma



- S Gail Griffin
- R Peggy Judd, David Stevens
- M Benson, Bisbee, Buckeye, Douglas, Gila Bend, Huachuca City, Marana, Nogales, Sierra Vista, Tombstone, Willcox



- S Al Melvin
- R Terri Proud, Vic Williams
- M Marana, Oro Valley, Tucson



- S Olivia Cajero Bedford
- R Sally Ann Gonzales, Macario Saldate
- M Tucson



- S Paula Aboud
- R Steve Farley, Bruce Wheeler
- M Tucson
- DISTRICT 29
- S Linda Lopez
- R Matt Heinz, Daniel Patterson
- M South Tucson, Tucson



M Municipalities

- S Frank Antenori
- R David Gowan, Ted Vogt
 - M Patagonia, Sahuarita, Sierra Vista, Tucson

