

Media contact: Ken Strobeck, Executive Director League of Arizona Cities and Towns (602) 258-5786 kstrobeck@azleague.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

LOCAL OFFICIALS SELECTED TO LEAD LEAGUE OF ARIZONA CITIES AND TOWNS

PHOENIX (**Sept. 8, 2011**) - Members of the League of Arizona Cities and Towns selected three new members for its policy-making Executive Committee at the organization's annual conference last week in Tucson, Arizona.

New members elected to the Executive Committee:

Douglas Coleman, Councilmember, Apache Junction Lana Mook, Mayor, El Mirage Frederick Mueller, Mayor, Sierra Vista

Others re-elected to two-year terms on the Executive Committee:

Gilbert Lopez, Vice Mayor, Coolidge

Fernando Shipley, Mayor, Globe

John Salem, Mayor, Kingman

Thomas L. Schoaf, Mayor, Litchfield Park

Kenny Evans, Mayor, Payson

Bob Barrett, Mayor, Peoria

Claude Mattox, Councilmember, Phoenix

Harvey Skoog, Mayor, Prescott Valley

Bob Rivera, Mayor, Thatcher

-more-

2-2-2/League Selects New Executive Committee Members

League officers with one year remaining on their Executive Committee term:

President: Robert Walkup, Mayor, Tucson

Vice President: Doug Von Gausig, Mayor, Clarkdale

Treasurer: Mark Mitchell, Councilmember, Tempe

Those with one year remaining on their Executive Committee term:

Marie Lopez Rogers, Mayor, Avondale

Jay Tibshraeny, Mayor, Chandler

Elaine M. Scruggs, Mayor, Glendale

Mark Nexsen, Mayor, Lake Havasu City

Scott Smith, Mayor, Mesa

Lynne Skelton, Vice Mayor, Sahuarita

W. J. "Jim" Lane, Mayor, Scottsdale

Rob Adams, Mayor, Sedona

Gerry Whipple, Councilmember, Show Low

Alan Krieger, Mayor, Yuma

The 25-member Executive Committee is the governing body of the League of Arizona Cities and Towns and sets policy relating to legislative and organizational matters.

About the League:

The League of Arizona Cities and Towns is a voluntary association of all the 91 incorporated cities and towns in the State of Arizona. It provides policy and legislative advocacy, information and inquiry services, along with publications and educational programs to strengthen the quality and efficiency of municipal government. It was founded in 1937 to serve the interests of cities and towns and to preserve the principles of home rule and local determination. The conference is the League's largest annual event, attracting more than 900 elected officials and staff from cities and towns throughout the state to attend educational sessions, participate in panel discussions and share best practices.

###